Bowie State University
14000 Jericho Park Road,
Photograph by M-NCPPC/Steve Abramowitz
College Park Aviation Museum
1985 Cpl. Frank Scott Drive,
College Park, MD 20740,
In 1933, John W. Greene was issued a commercial pilot's license, the second Black man to qualify in the United States. In 1941, he opened the Columbia Air Center along the Patuxent River at Croom, Maryland. This was the first Black-owned and operated airport and airfield in Prince George's County [1941 to 1956]. Today the field is owned by the Maryland National Capital Park and Planning Commission and is part of the Department of Parks and Recreation. A historical marker and exhibit on Columbia Air Center are included in the Chesapeake Bay Critical Need Driving Tour. The Museum in College Park offers an exhibit commemorating the pioneering efforts of John W. Greene as a mechanic, pilot, and teacher of aviation and displays Black aviation's role in the development of Prince George's County.
10704 Brookland Road, Glenn
Dale, MD 20769, 301/ 352-5544.
Dorsey Chapel is an excellent example of the small frame meeting house style church that was the focal point of rural African American communities in the county at the turn of the century. It was built to serve the Black farming community of Brookland and is distinguished by its steeply pitched gabled roof. On September 16, 1900, the cornerstone of the Brookland Methodist Epsicopal Church was laid, but from its earliest days it was known as Dorsey Chapel. The chapel is the only restored African American structure in the county open to the public.
North Brentwood Historical Society
North Brentwood has the distinction of being the first African American incorporated town in Prince George's County and the Washington metropolitan area. For further information, write: Retha E. Henry, President, 4507 Church Street, North Brentwood, MD 20722-1221.
Prince George's County Historical Society
5626 Bell Station Road
Headquartered in the historic
Marietta Mansion, the Society maintains the Frederick DeMarr Historical
Library, a significant resource for individuals seeking to explore the
rich history of Prince George's County, Maryland. The objectives of the
Society include a desire to to foster an understanding and appreciation
of the history and heritage of Prince George's County and to engage in
the collection, recording, organization, restoration, and preservation
of historical data, artifacts and all associated materials relative to
Prince George's County and the state of Maryland. The Library is open
for research on Saturdays noon to 4 PM and by appointment.
The Sojourner Truth Room
Oxon Hill Library, 6200 Oxon
Hill Road, Oxon Hill, MD 20745,
In 1967, the Oxon Hill Library opened on this site formerly home to the Sojourner Truth School, which was built in 1942, teaching the 1st through 6th grade. In 1943, the school expanded to include 7th grade instruction; by 1949 an 8th grade curriculum was added. The school closed in the early 1960s. Named after abolitionist, women's rights activist, lecturer, and religious leader Sojourner Truth, The Sojourner Truth Room holds a collection of rare and out-of-print books on African American history and culture, children's books, periodicals, sheet music, pictures, posters, pamphlets, news clippings, slave narratives and historical accounts of slavery, biographies of African Americans, and information about African Americans living in Maryland.
heritage sites in Prince George's County 1-888-925-8300 http://www.visitprincegeorges.com